Our Trustees

Leith Comer

Iwi/hapū: Ngāti Rangitihi, Ngai Tahu, Ngāti Pahuwera, Te Arawa 

Leith has a comprehensive knowledge of the workings of Government as well as leadership experience in the military, private and community sectors. He led Te Puni Kōkiri from 2001 to 2012 and was previously the Deputy Secretary of the Ministry of Economic Development. Leith’s current responsibilities include being a member of the New Zealand Parole Board, Chairman of the Excel Rotorua Education Trust and Chairman of the Rotorua District Council Contracting Company.

Catherine Moana Dewes

Iwi/hapū: Ngāti Rangitihi, Te Arawa, Ngāti Porou

Cathy has been actively involved in Māori language revitalisation initiatives for more than 35 years, and was instrumental in the establishment of kura kaupapa Māori schools throughout Aotearoa. Her awards and qualifications include a national award for Māori language leadership, the Officer of the Order for Services to Māori, and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Waikato for her work on Te Reo Māori. She was involved in advocating a fair settlement for Ngāti Rangitihi in the CNI Forests Collective Settlement, and is currently the Principal of Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Ruamata in Rotorua.

Harina Warbrick

Iwi/hapū: Ngāti Rangitihi, Wharepaia

Harina Warbrick is a company director with a background in the private business sector. In 2012, Harina was acting Chief Executive of Te Mana and oversaw the drafting of the mandating, education and te Reo strategies. As a Trustee, Harina believes it is important that Ngāti Rangitihi grows and develops its future leaders and uses the settlement process to come together as one. Building the understanding of the iwi whakapapa and history is also important, with the overall goal of completing a comprehensive settlement with the Crown.

Kenneth Lawrence Te Langa Raureti

Iwi/hapū: Ngāti Rangitihi, Te Arawa, Ngāti Porou

Kenneth Raureti is a mediator and business management consultant. His career in HR and employment relations includes an appointment to the Employment Relations Authority as Chief Mediator for the Department of Labour. Kenneth’s current responsibilities include being a trustee for Ruawahia 2B Trust, a board member of the Māori Arts and Crafts Institute, a member of the Te Arawa Lakes Trust Komiti Whakahaere and a director of CNI Iwi Holdings Ltd.

Merepeka Raukawa-Tait

Iwi/hapū: Te Arawa

Merepeka Raukawa-Tait is a professional administrator with an interest in central and local government politics, environmental management, and Māori economic and social development. Merepeka is an elected member of the Lakes District Health Board, a member of the Executive of the Rotorua Chamber of Commerce, a Ministerial Appointee on the Te Arawa Whānau Ora Regional Leadership Group, and an executive member of the Rotorua Social Services Council. She also runs her own consultancy specialising in organisational development and change management.

Stephen Tiipene Perenara Marr

Iwi/hapū: Te Arawa, Te Ati Awa

Tiipene Marr is a long-time environmental advocate with a passion for the kaitiakitanga and manaakitanga of our lakes, mountains, rivers, lands and coastlines. He is the Māori councillor for the Kohi constituency with Environment Bay of Plenty. Tiipene’s aspirations for Ngāti Rangitihi include improving the Taiao (environmental footprint on the whenua) and growing the use of Te Reo.

Donna Semmens

Ngāti Rangitihi, Ngāti Awa, Whakatohea

Donna has been heavily involved in Matatā and Ngāti Rangitihi Iwi community advocacy and event organising for many years through her role as Ngāti Rangitihi Iwi Sports liaison delegate. Her current responsibilities include being a Trustee of Ngāti Rangitihi Marae Trust, and also a Ngāti Rangitihi representative board member on Te Papa Takaro o Te Arawa, a Maori Sports organisation.  Donna recently completed a Diploma in Maori Governance and Leadership and is now undertaking a certificate in Mental Health, level 4-6.

Register with Te Mana o Ngāti Rangitihi Trust