Two New Trustees For Te Mana

Former Te Puni Kokiri Chief Executive, Leith Comer, and Matatā community advocate, Donna Semmens, have been elected to Te Mana o Ngāti Rangitihi Trust (Te Mana), along with Cathy Dewes and Merepeka Raukawa-Tait who have been re-elected.

The results were confirmed today by Electionz following the close of voting last week.

Te Mana Hāpai-Ō (Chief Executive), Anthony Olsen, has congratulated the new Trustees and said it is encouraging to see an increase in the number of people voting.

“This is an important time for Ngāti Rangitihi as we move towards negotiations with the Crown on a comprehensive settlement of our historical Treaty of Waitangi grievances.

“Two hundred and sixty two more people voted in this election than in 2012; that’s a significant jump and it is really pleasing to see our people taking a keen interest in Te Mana,” said Mr Olsen.

Voter turnout was 36.54%, which represents 1,003 votes cast from the 2,745 eligible electors. In 2012, 741 people voted that was down from 843 people who voted in 2009.

Mr Olsen has also paid tribute to former Chair Graham Pryor and Trustee Martin Marr.

“On behalf of Te Mana, I wish to acknowledge the tireless work of Graham and Martin. Both have had a big part to play in the direction of Te Mana and I thank them for their mahi.

“As Chair, Graham has been a passionate advocate for Ngāti Rangitihi and during his term has overseen the Mana Whenua allocation process, the implementation of our Te Reo strategy and the mandating of Te Mana for our Treaty negotiations. We wish Graham and Martin well for their future endeavours,” said Mr Olsen.

Te Mana will meet on Monday 13 October, when it will elect a new Chair. Te Mana will also review the election process, which is usual practice following elections.